How to get creative with homemade hummus

My process for turning one recipe into endless variations

When in doubt, make it into hummus.

One of my favorite kitchen hacks is learn a staple recipe until I have it down pat, then get creative with that foundational recipe with endless variations.

If you’ve been following me on the plant path, you probably already have seen this – see my overnight oats, vegan oatmeal cookies, and homemade croutons as examples.

Today I’m sharing another of these favorite: homemade hummus.

Once you get the simple foundational recipe down – chickpeas, olive oil, tahini, garlic, lemon juice, salt, and pepper – you can make endless variations with other herbs, spices, and even vegetables.

To prove this, today I’m sharing 4 of the latest hummus recipes I’ve whipped up (pun intended) using bright and colorful – or unconventional – vegetables. Use these recipes as a guide and then get creative with your own hummus dips!👇

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Chickpeas were grown as long as 10,000 years ago in Turkey and tahini is mentioned in cookbooks dating back to the 13th century. (source)

For some people, the meal itself is a long delay between the appetizer and the dessert.

Gertrude Berg

WHEN YOU’RE READY, HERE’S HOW WE CAN WORK TOGETHER: 👇

Support the newsletter and get weekly plant-based meal plans!

For only $7 a month you can support the work I do in creating this daily newsletter and also get access to the Plant Path Meal Planner with over 100+ ad-free vegan recipes and I create a new meal plan sent to you each and every week. Become a supporting subscriber here!

Reply

or to participate.