Just make the cookies, not regrets

3 homemade oatmeal cookie recipes to cure afternoon cravings

Afternoon cookie cravings, solved.

I have this recurring issue come up: about once every week or two I get an INTENSE craving for cookies around 3pm.

As a dietitian, I would tell my clients who are experiencing this that there are a few reasons why this is a repeat craving: not eating enough at breakfast or lunch, not keeping balanced snacks on hand, or misreading a sugar craving for simply needing to get up and move your body in the middle of the afternoon during a long work day.

These are all valid ways to ditch the afternoon cravings for sweets.

But guess what? I would also say to those clients (and, in turn, myself)…

👉 Sometimes you just need to make the d@mn cookies.

So I’ve gathered three of my favorite 20-minute start-to-finish oatmeal cookie recipes that bust through afternoon cravings. Because, sure, you can eat the healthy snacks and go for your walks, but sometimes nothing will hit the spot like curing that craving with a soft, right-outta-the-oven homemade cookie.

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Random cookie fact: Nabisco changed its animal cracker box to “uncage” the animals on its iconic circus cages in 2018 after pressure from PETA. Even fictional animals should be free from cages! (source)

Think what a better world it would be if we all, the whole world, had cookies and milk about three o'clock every afternoon and then lay down on our blankets for a nap.

Barbara Jordan

WHEN YOU’RE READY, HERE’S HOW WE CAN WORK TOGETHER: 👇

1️⃣ Subscribe on YouTube
Follow along with my eco kitchen journey on Youtube, where I share plant-based recipes, tips for reducing food waste, meal planning resources, and more. Click here to subscribe.

2️⃣ Let me plan your meals!
Take the guesswork out of meal planning and cooking plant-based meals and let me plan your meals for you – for only $7/month. Join Plant Powered Kitchen Club!

Reply

or to participate.