Sunday prep tip: DIY your salad drizzle

Why you should experiment with making your own salad dressings

I’m challenging you to DIY your dressings

While it may seem like I’m some sort of urban homesteader who bakes her own bread (never attempted it) or makes her own pizza dough (ok, I do actually do this), I’m all about premade products when they make sense.

However, I have a hard time purchasing $8+ products I could make in literally 5 minutes from ingredients I already have on hand, like salad dressings. That doesn’t make sense to me.

That’s why for this week’s Sunday Prep Tip (this will be a thing from now on), I’m sharing three super simple homemade salad dressing recipes that you can whip up in less than five minutes. The first has ingredients you likely have on hand and is my foundational DIY dressing recipe that I tailor with different vinegars, oils, herbs, and spices. The other two recipes build upon the first, using interesting ingredients to boost flavor and add a creamy texture to your dressings — without the dairy.

👉 Your homework: Take 5 minutes to make a batch of salad dressing for the week ahead. Store it in the refrigerator and pull it out throughout the week for a drizzle on salads, bowls, or vegetables.

Then report back and let me how it goes.

🥗 + 👩‍🍳,

Kristina
salad dressing diva

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

The first store-bought salad dressings were sold in wooden jars. (source*)

*The more interesting fact of the day is that I had no idea there was an official Association for Dressings and Sauces, which is where I found the above salad dressing fact. Apparently they even have a “technical meeting” coming up in May and I’m so curious what types of topics are presented at a meeting about sauces….maybe I should try to attend. 😂

Salad can get a bad rap. People think of bland and watery iceberg lettuce, but in fact, salads are an art form.

Marcus Samuelsson

TODAY’S VIDEO

And if you LOVE caesar salads but you’re not sure how to make them vegan, check out my ridiculously flavorful plant-based caesar dressing in this video.

From time to time, I love sharing other newsletters that drop interesting facts, news, or advice into your inbox — and Important, Not Important is one of them. Subscribe to check out their twice weekly emails about science that matters.

Sponsored
Important, Not ImportantScience for people who give a sh*t. News, essays, and Action Steps so you can understand and help unfuck the world.

LET ME KNOW…

How do you feel about food shopping?

What's you're relationship with grocery shopping? Do you love or hate going to the store or to the farmers market?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

GET WEEKLY MEAL PLANS

Get weekly meal plans!

For only $7 a month you can support the work I do in creating this daily newsletter and also get access to the Plant Path Meal Planner with over 150+ ad-free plant-rich recipes, and I create a new meal plan sent to you each and every week. Learn more!

Reply

or to participate.