Sweet potatoes, every which way 🍠

3 show-stopping sweet potato recipes that take center stage

Stop being boring with your sweet potatoes

Did you ever go through a boring “chicken and sweet potatoes” phase? You know what that stage of life is like, when you try to eat “healthy” and you end up eating boring baked chicken breasts and a side of sweet potatoes.

That was the stage I was in until I realized a) I don’t want to eat meat anymore, and b) there are SO MANY interesting things to do with vegetables that don’t relegate them to being just a boring side accompaniment on your plate.

Around these parts, vegetables are not the side…they are the STAR. 🌟

So today in 5 minutes or less I’m sharing:

  • 3 show-stopping sweet potato recipes

  • A fun fact to finally squash that question about potatoes vs. yams

  • My first ever video (cringey, but includes sweet potatoes)

  • A new zero waste dish washing experiment I’m running

  • I want to know, “Do you even meal prep?”

  • How to kickstart your plant-based meals for under $2/week

🍠 + ⭐️,

Kristina
sweet potato superstar

P.S. Happy Leap Day! Even though this is a daily newsletter, I won’t share another newsletter on February 29th for another 4 years.

SWEET POTATO RECIPE 1️⃣

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Sweet potatoes are not actually potatoes (tubers), but roots. Yams are big edible “tubers” categorized as monocots (plants with one embryonic seed leaf) and belong to the Dioscorea genus. Sweet potatoes are edible “roots” categorized as dicots (plants with two embryonic seed leaves) from the Convolvulaceae or Morning Glory family. They are native to the Americas, growing best in tropical and warm temperate regions. The sweet potato has long been a favorite crop in the United States, especially in the Southeast. Over 50% of the country’s sweet potatoes are grown in North Carolina. (source)

SWEET POTATO RECIPE 2️⃣

FOOD (QUOTE) FOR THOUGHT 💭

Some people think I look like a sweet potato, I consider myself a spud with a heart of gold.

Shirley MacLaine

SWEET POTATO RECIPE 3️⃣

TODAY’S VIDEO 🎥

The first video I ever created! I cringe a little when I watch it, but this 60 second video took me about 9 hours of my life to create 3+ years ago so I’ll continue to share it (because of course I want you to make this recipe, but also because I will never get that 9 hours back so I’m going to make it worth it 😉).

SECRET RECIPE OF THE DAY 🤫

Today Alejandra left this glowing recipe review on my Pinterest page

LINKS I’M LOVING 🔗

I’m on a mission to reduce waste in my kitchen and one of the things I’ve been testing out is switching from liquid dish soap that I buy in bulk to a dish soap bar. I connected with the mom and daughter-owned company No Tox Life, who sent me a sample of their popular dish block with a dish brush and cute wooden holder.

No Tox Vegan Dish Block

Verdict? Honestly, I’m not sure yet. I’ve been using it for handwashing dishes and I like it well enough but it won’t replace my preferred dish washing method (my dishwasher). However, if you live without a dish washer or if just prefer to hand wash your dishes (I know you weirdos exist out there) then I suggest giving the bar a try to ditch the plastic bottles of liquid dish soap.

I’M CURIOUS 🧐

Do you prep?

Do you prep your meals or ingredients for the week ahead?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

JOIN THE MEAL PLAN CLUB 💪

Kickstart your meals with plants!

Get the Plant Path Planner meal plan app for ad-free access to 150+ plant-based recipes, weekly meal plan drops, a customizable meal plan builder, grocery shopping list, and meal prep plan. All for only $7/month (that’s less than $2 a meal plan). Learn more!

Reply

or to participate.