How I fight food waste with pantry pastas

My food waste fighting pantry pasta recipe framework

I’m challenging you to fight food waste…by eating more pasta

There’s this secret lunch I make at least once a week that fights food waste – pantry pasta

Here’s how it works:

  1. You find all of the lost or forgotten vegetables in your kitchen.

  2. Then you cook the vegetables with some flavor-boosting ingredients like garlic, citrus, herbs, and red pepper in olive oil.

  3. Then toss with pasta, eat, and enjoy.

Every time I make it (which is realistically about 2-3 lunches per week) it’s different, depending on the vegetables I have on hand. Sometimes it’s good, sometimes its great, and sometimes it’s outstanding.

But I always feel great knowing that I found a way to use up those vegetables that would otherwise go to waste. ♻️

So today in 5 minutes or less I’m sharing:

  • 3 food waste-fighting pantry pasta recipes

  • A fact about what types of foods are wasted the most

  • A short video to save for the start of asparagus season

  • A new zero waste dish washing experiment I’m running

  • I want to know, “What’s your why?”

  • What to do if you’re not sure where to start eating plant-based

🍝 + ♻️,

Kristina
food waste pasta pioneer

PANTRY PASTA RECIPE 1️⃣

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Breaking it down food waste by food group, food losses and waste per year are roughly 30% for cereals, 40-50% for root crops and fruit and vegetables, 20% for oil seed and meat and dairy, and 35% for fish. That means that almost 50% of the vegetables produced in the United States are wasted, with the majority of that waste happening in the home. Incorporating food waste recipes (like pantry pasta meals) can help to use up foods that would otherwise be thrown out. (source)

PANTRY PASTA RECIPE 2️⃣

FOOD (QUOTE) FOR THOUGHT 💭

All you need is love, but a little pasta now and then doesn’t hurt.

Charles M. Shulz

PANTRY PASTA RECIPE 3️⃣

TODAY’S VIDEO 🎥

One of my favorite ways to celebrate the coming asparagus season is by putting the green stalks in a tasty pasta.

SECRET RECIPE OF THE DAY 🤫

LINKS I’M LOVING 🔗

I’m on a mission to reduce waste in my kitchen and one of the things I’ve been testing out is switching from liquid dish soap that I buy in bulk to a dish soap bar. I connected with the mom and daughter-owned company No Tox Life, who sent me a sample of their popular dish block with a dish brush and cute wooden holder.

No Tox Vegan Dish Block

Verdict? Honestly, I’m not sure yet. I’ve been using it for handwashing dishes and I like it well enough but it won’t replace my preferred dish washing method (my dishwasher). However, if you live without a dish washer or if just prefer to hand wash your dishes (I know you weirdos exist out there) then I suggest giving the bar a try to ditch the plastic bottles of liquid dish soap.

I’M CURIOUS 🧐

What's your WHY?

What's your #1 reason for wanting to eat a more plant-based diet?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

JOIN THE MEAL PLAN CLUB 💪

Not sure where to start?

If you’re not sure where to start with eating more plants and planning plant-based meals, give my Plant Path Planner a try! At only $7/month for weekly dietitian-created meal plans, you can try out 5-days of plant-based meals each week. Learn more!

A recent weekly meal plan

Reply

or to participate.