You put WHAT in that hummus?

I'm challenging you to get creative with homemade hummus

Yup, I made hummus with these weird plants.

A serious question for you: How much money do you spend on hummus or other packaged dips every week? 🤔

If you’re anything like us, it’s ALOT.

We're BIG hummus lovers in this house. We eat it as a dip, we use it as a spread on sandwiches, and I even add it to homemade salad dressings to make them extra creamy without dairy (yup, and it’s very tasty).

But dang...it's expensive right now!

Our usual 12 ounce carton of premade hummus is now nearly $7 when it used to be under $4.

So recently I’ve been doing something I've been saying I was going to do for a VERY long time: I started making my own homemade hummus.

And it's SO incredibly easy to make, I couldn't help getting creative and making hummus with some non-traditional plants (because of course I did).

Give them a try and let me: am I a genius, or a just crazy?

🥗 + 👩‍🍳,

Kristina
hot for hummus

P.S. Can you guess the secret ingredients in each hummus below before you click to the recipes?

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Hummus is thought by many to have its origins in the same regions first known to cultivate chickpeas, namely Southwest Asia and its environs. The food’s first appearance in the written record comes from a 13th-century cookbook from Cairo, though this version was notably without tahini or garlic. (source)

The more colorful the food, the better. I try to add color to my diet, which means vegetables and fruits.

Misty May-Traenor

TODAY’S VIDEO

EarthHero is my favorite eco-friendly alternative to Amazon for sustainably made and zero waste home and kitchen goods. In addition to stocking well-made items, they provide transparent information about each product’s origin, packaging, and tips for a product’s end-of-life care (composting, recycling, etc.). Get 15% off your first order!

LET ME KNOW…

How do you feel about food shopping?

What's you're relationship with grocery shopping? Do you love or hate going to the store or to the farmers market?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

GET WEEKLY MEAL PLANS

Get weekly meal plans!

For only $7 a month you can support the work I do in creating this daily newsletter and also get access to the Plant Path Meal Planner with over 150+ ad-free plant-rich recipes, and I create a new meal plan sent to you each and every week. Learn more!

Reply

or to participate.