Let's get scrappy...with food scraps ♻️

Food waste-fight recipes to save those scraps

Don’t toss those food scraps!

One of my favorite things to experiment with in the kitchen is how to save food scraps from the compost bin and turn them into something that’s not only edible, but downright delicious.

I wasn’t always this way – in fact, for far too long I was downright wasteful with food. But once I began making meal planning a habit and it seemed silly to throw out the food you’d spent time planning, shopping for, and cooking each week.

Today I’m sharing a few of my favorite ways to repurpose those food scraps you’d otherwise toss. I hope this sparks ideas to turn your food trash into treasure!

🌱 + ♻️,

Kristina
food waste warrior

Fight food waste with these scrappy recipes ♻️

SCRAPPY RECIPE #1 (here’s what to do with leftover stale bread)

SCRAPPY RECIPE #7 (you probably having this weed growing in your yard)

Eco kitchen tips to reduce food waste 💡

KITCHEN TIP #1 (save scraps all week, then freeze it for later use)

KITCHEN TIP #3 (perfect to save for smoothies)

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Roughly one-third of the food produced that is intended for human consumption every year- around 1.3 billion tons and valued at USD$1 trillion- is wasted or lost. This is enough to feed 3 billion people. (source)

TODAY’S VIDEO 🎥

Nothing is a waste of time if you use the experience wisely.

Auguste Rodin

I’M CURIOUS 🧐

I’d love it if you’d be a peach and take 3 minutes to fill out this short survey about your biggest struggles in the kitchen right now. If you do, you’ll receive a FREE meal plan that’s usually just available to my meal plan members. 👇

GET MEAL PLANS FOR $2/WEEK

If you’re not sure where to start with eating more plants and planning plant-based meals, give my Plant Path Planner a try! At only $7/month for weekly dietitian-created meal plans, you can try out 5-days of plant-based meals each week. Learn more!

A recent weekly meal plan

Reply

or to participate.