My favorite big fat salads 🥗

Here’s what to eat when salad the craving hits

Here’s what to eat when the salad craving hits.

We recently spent 10 days in Hawaii, drinking smoothies and eating acai bowls every day (I never wanted to come home, obviously).

I say almost every day, because the last 3-4 days of the trip our food groups included pancakes, pizza, and more pizza.

When I finally got back into my own kitchen and was writing my weekly meal plan (I practice what I preach!), I realized the only thing I was craving was a big bowl of vegetables in the form of big fat salads.

So I’m sharing some of my absolute favorite salads if you’re also coveting a plate of plants. Add one (or three!) to your own meal plan for the week ahead.

💚 + 🥗,

Kristina
big fat salad scholar

Today in 5 minutes or less 👉

  • 5 of my favorite big fats salads

  • Useful fact: why your body with thank you after eating said salads

  • A video of my favorite simple salad to serve with tacos

  • My favorite eco alternative to Amazon

  • I want to know, “What’s your why for eating more plants?”

  • Get my exact meal plans for under $2/week

LINKS I’M LOVING: NEWSLETTER EDITION 🤝

From time to time, I love sharing other newsletters that drop interesting facts, news, or advice into your inbox — and both Important, Not Important and Breathe and Flow are some of them. Subscribe to check out their weekly emails about the science that matters and yoga, respectively.

Sponsored
Breathe and Flowexpand your yoga practice beyond the mat
Sponsored
Important, Not ImportantScience for people who give a sh*t. News, essays, and Action Steps so you can understand and help unfuck the world.

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

A diet rich in vegetables and fruits can lower blood pressure, reduce the risk of heart disease and stroke, prevent some types of cancer, lower risk of eye and digestive problems, and have a positive effect upon blood sugar, which can help keep appetite in check. At least nine different families of fruits and vegetables exist, each with potentially hundreds of different plant compounds that are beneficial to health. Eat a variety of types and colors of produce in order to give your body the mix of nutrients it needs. This not only ensures a greater diversity of beneficial plant chemicals but also creates eye-appealing meals. (source)

TODAY’S VIDEO 🎥

Vegetables are a must on a diet. I suggest carrot cake, zucchini bread, and pumpkin pie.

Jim Davis

SECRET RECIPE OF THE DAY 🤫

Suzy left this comment about my pesto with an unexpected vegetable

TOGETHER WITH: EARTHHERO 🤝

EarthHero is my favorite eco-friendly alternative to Amazon for sustainably made and zero waste home and kitchen goods. In addition to stocking well-made items, they provide transparent information about each product’s origin, packaging, and tips for a product’s end-of-life care (composting, recycling, etc.). Get 15% off your first order!

I’M CURIOUS 🧐

What's your WHY?

What's your #1 reason for wanting to eat a more plant-based diet?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

GET MEAL PLANS FOR $2/WEEK

If you’re not sure where to start with eating more plants and planning plant-based meals, give my Plant Path Planner a try! At only $7/month for weekly dietitian-created meal plans, you can try out 5-days of plant-based meals each week. Learn more!

A recent weekly meal plan

Reply

or to participate.