It's not all salads and smoothies over here

Try one of the plant-containing comfort food alternatives.

Plant-based eating isn’t all salads and smoothies.

One of the most common comments I get when telling people I eat a plant-based diet is something along the lines of, “Yeah, I just can’t eat that many salads.” As if that’s all you can eat eat when plant-based.

Nope. No. Absolutely not. Not a chance.

Don’t get me wrong, I love a big fat salad. In fact, I’ve created hundreds of them on Fork in the Road. But eating a diet founded in plants does NOT mean that you’re lacking comforting, savory, mouthwatering meals.

That’s why I rounded up a few of my favorite plant-based comfort food recipes – from tacos, to mac and cheese, to pizza. Try replacing one of your standard meat- or dairy-containing meals this week with a plant-containing alternative. 👇

DID YOU KNOW? 🧐

Did you know that some plants can "communicate" with each other through chemical signals? It's like their own natural social network! Who needs Tik Tok, really?

LINK LOVE 🔗

  • READ: If 100 Americans switched to plant-based diets, this is how much land would be freed for conservation (NutritionStudies.org)

  • QUESTION: Do you understand the term “ultra processed food”? (Food Politics)

  • RESEARCH: A study found a grandmother’s diet can protect her grandchildren’s brains. My brain must be full of coffee and rye bread, if that’s case, because that’s all my grandmother ate. (Science Daily)

The doctor of the future will no longer treat the human frame with drugs, but rather will cure and prevent disease with nutrition.

Thomas Edison

WHEN YOU’RE READY, HERE’S HOW WE CAN WORK TOGETHER: 👇

1️⃣ Subscribe on YouTube
Follow along with my eco kitchen journey on Youtube, where I share plant-based recipes, tips for reducing food waste, meal planning resources, and more. Click here to subscribe. 

2️⃣ Let me plan your meals!
Take the guesswork out of meal planning and cooking plant-based meals and let me plan your meals for you – for only $7/month. Join Plant Powered Kitchen Club!

What's your WHY?

What's your #1 reason for wanting to eat a more plant-based diet?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Reply

or to participate.